My family has always been mixed race. But it has never been post-racial

woman crying

I was sad and I was hurt, but I wasn’t shocked. Of course he said and wrote those things. I know that racism is learned, and I know that he grew up with parents who are more offended by the acknowledgment of racism than racism itself. I wasn’t crazy to worry some 15 years ago about who my nephew would become – but knowing that doesn’t make it any less painful or exhausting.

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/dec/17/my-family-mixed-race-not-post-racial-ferguson

Leave a Reply

