Nina McConigley’s Book ‘Cowboys and East Indians’ Wins PEN Award

There’s a lot of great references to websites and authors and ideas in this article.

Like this – #WeNeedDiverseBooks

this – “I love Rajesh Parameswaran’s book I am the Executioner, Blu’s Hanging by Lois-Ann Yamanaka blew me away the first time I read it. Have you read Tarfia Faizullah’s poetry? Her book Seam is a damn revelation. And Akhil Sharma, Chitra Divakaruni, Vikram Chandra, and Jhumpa Lahiri have all been important to me.”

and this – “She is a very strong personality, and in some ways, I think I am very different than her. She is sort of fearless when it comes to walking into a room, when it comes to being secure in her identity. Maybe that’s because she grew up seeing a reflection of herself?

Holy shit, imagine the possibilities of not living in wscp!

http://www.nbcnews.com/news/asian-america/nina-mcconigleys-book-cowboys-east-indians-wins-pen-award-n182446

Leave a Reply

