ugh when are they gonna make colorblind TV! CBTV now!

I don’t think this hater has ever heard the expression- you get what you get and you don’t get upset. I haven’t watched the new episode yet because I haven’t had the chance. If it weren’t for an economy based on forced labor exploitation I’d spend all morning reading about dragons and swords and then all day watching TV about it and then all night dreaming about riding horses through the woods killing cancer with my bow and arrow. Unfortunately, we’re not there yet. And by we I mean u and me and everyone we know. Look at Daenerys though. Isn’t her hair so pretty even amidst all that brown people? Okay I guess I’m just mad because thusly I’ve been happily consuming this show and ignoring the standard white savior, POC savage narrative. Thanks a lot mixed-race film graduate, Shane Thomas.

Daenerys Targaryen is back to “save the coloureds” Tour de #GameofThrones 2014

Final Scene in Season 3 of Game of Thrones

While not placing it in the pantheon of truly great television, I’ve been a fan of Game of Thrones since the show debuted in 2011. I normally like my drama pessimistic, with a hard edge, and even downright cruel on occasion. I like even more that a show in the fantasy realm cares as much about its tonal execution, as it does costumes and wacky names.

And yet, I’ve never been able to relax in the presence of the programme, never allowed myself to be fully swept up in the world of Westeros. The reason why? This is best encapsulated by the conclusion of Season 3 – which Sky were so helpful to remind us of during their promotion for the upcoming Season 4.

The character of Daenerys Targaryen is emblematic of ”Game of Thrones” continuous problem with race. Beyond the emetic “white saviour“ scene to close Season 3, we are first introduced to her during a forced marriage to Khal Drogo of the Dothraki people (who are non-white). At the wedding, the Dothraki are painted as little more than savages, with the men literally killing each other to force themselves on the women; hypersexual and hyperviolent, two big racist boxes are ticked.

– From “Daenerys Targaryen Is Back To ‘Save The Coloureds’ Tour De #GameOfThrones 2014,” by Shane Thomas

Leave a Reply

